Should active wear brands use more varied sized models?

The more and more I scroll through Instagram and online for active wear brands the more I get annoyed.

Very few brands use a variation of model sizes. I have only ever seen a few brands use different shape and size models.

This is so frustrating sitting on the outside and seeing this. Why do brands only use one ‘physique’ type that seems perfect to all of us? Why do they not use more varied sized women?

I really struggle to comprehend this. In all honesty it shocks me and frustrates me at the same time.

Brands such as NIKE are huge culprits of doing this. Even within their shops their mannequins are a small.

As a curvy girl between a size 12-14 it angers me, does it mean that because I am curvy I’m not allowed to be wearing this brands?

I am so passionate about promoting self-love and confidence in your own skin and this is why I have such strong opinions about this topic. I believe that brands are limiting themselves and others around them by doing this. There are a number of extremely talented women who are curvy and larger than your average ‘fitness models’.

Of course brands want beautiful stunning girls on the front covers of their shops, but does this really relate to the every day you and me?

Surely being more connected with their consumers would benefit both society and their business?

I think the fitness industry has a lot to learn, especially where active wear is concerned.

Although I’ve never felt like I couldn’t wear these brands I wonder how plus sized women feel when they go into shops.

I also think about young women growing up – we all know that growing up is hard enough but having all of these ‘fitness models’ placed in front of them by these brands doesn’t help. Society is so fixated on being a certain size and shape.

I don’t think it helps young women with understanding that it doesn’t matter how much you weigh or what size you are, as long as you are healthy and happy. I believe that these brands promote aesthetics over health.

There is a huge issue within society something I will cover in a separate blog post.

I know Fablectics have started to use curvy models and I do hope to see more bigger and well known brands using them in the future. I’m a true believe that this will help change the way young girls see themselves growing up.

Let’s make it acceptable and the norm for women to love themselves in whatever active wear they choose.

As always if you want to get in touch please feel free to email me:
Leanleila@gmail.com
Instagram: @healthier_leila

Leave a Reply

