The world of Instagram


I started blogging and Instagram almost over a year ago now and I’m astonished at how much it has changed.

For me when I started my Instgram page it was for myself and to gain knowledge from those on the 90 Day SSS Plan. It was never something I thought would become such a huge part of my life.

In the short space of a year I feel that Instagram has changed so much, and the reason why people are using the platform.

There’s business, individuals and communities, however there has been a huge rise in the ‘I want to have 10,000+ followers’.

In all honesty I don’t understand why there is such a big attraction to having a large number ofΒ followers. I have never seen the attraction to this, why has it all become about the numbers?

I have always said from the start I’d much rather have 35 followers so I can help and inspire along the way rather than an insignificant number, but this isn’t the case for everyone.

I believe that theΒ whole aspect of having a large number of followers comes from receiving free items from companies. Now, I’ve been lucky enough to have been sent some items by business that I have chosen to work with, not because they’ve sent me free packs of crisps or active wear.

Don’t get me wrong, I know some very down to earth and passionate fellow females who have a large number of followers on Instagram but they aren’t out there to receive free items. They are simply passionate about growing a community and sharing their stories.

I think it’s sad that we live in a society that we are controlled by numbers, the number of likes a photos receives, the number of followers.. why has it become such a phenomenon to have all of this. Is this the new trend to be cool? Not in my eyes.

If you have an Instagram account and share you knowledge and passion for something – go for it – but remember that it isn’t about the number of followers – its all about those that you influence, help and inspire along the way.

As always.. Β feel free to contact me or leave me a note below..

Leila x

 

 

4 thoughts on “The world of Instagram

  1. I also don’t love the numbers game. I refuse to buy followers… or even to abide by a follow for follow rule. I want to follow and be followed by, those with a like agenda (in my case, clean, plant based, whole foods, etc). Followers for the sake of followers is irrelevant, false currency. That having been said, that mentality has corrupted insta for the rest of us…. what with shadow banning and changes in algorithms etc. Its a shame….

    Like

Leave a Reply

